ISHR is governed by a Board of Directors which is responsible for the overall strategy and governance of the organisation.

Our current Board members are:

Lucia Nader (Brazil) - Chair
Lucia Nader is is a human rights and civil society organisations expert. She was an Open Society Foundations Fellow in 2015-16 and Executive Director of Conectas Human Rights from 2011-14, where she worked from 2003 and through which she participated in an intensive ISHR training programme in 2005. Lucia has also served as Executive Secretary of Brazil's Foreign Policy and Human Rights Committee and is a Board member of the Fund for Global Human Rights.

Sir Nicolas Bratza (United Kingdom) – Vice-Chair
Sir Nicolas Bratza is former President of the European Court of Human Rights and served as a judge of that court from 1998 to 2012. Sir Nicolas is also President of the British Institute of Human Rights. With over 40 years’ experience in international law, Sir Nicolas is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading human rights lawyers.

Pierre Avanzo (France) - Treasurer
Pierre Avanzo is a management consultant and a former Partner with McKinsey & Co, where he worked for 18 years across Asia, Europe and the United States. Pierre has a degree in engineering and an MBA, together with more than 20 years' experience advising companies, governments, foundations and non-profits on issues of strategy, governance and development.

Maryam Al-Khawaja (Bahrain/Denmark)  Member
Maryam Al-Khawaja is Special Advisor to the Gulf Centre for Human Rights and former Acting President of the Bahrain Centre for Human Rights. She is a leading human rights defender and activist and was tried and sentenced to prison in absentia in Bahrain on 1 December 2014 in connection with her exercise of the rights to freedom of expression, association and assembly. She is Vice Chair of the Urgent Action Fund for Women's Human Rights. 

Elizabeth Broderick (Australia) - Member
Elizabeth Broderick was Australian Sex Discrimination Commissioner from 2007 to 2015 and formerly a partner with international law firm Ashurst. She is an expert member of the UN Working Group on Discrimination against Women, Global Co-Chair of the Women’s Empowerment Principles Leadership Group, a Special Adviser to UN Women, and a former member of the World Bank’s Advisory Council on Gender and Development.

Jean-Claude Erné (Switzerland) - Member
Jean-Claude Erné is an Equity Partner at Banque Pictet and CEO of the Swiss Wealth Management market. He has a background as a lawyer and is admitted to the Geneva Bar. He has worked extensively in Asia, including as Managing Director of Bank Pictet in Singapore and CEO of Pictet Wealth Management Asia.

Vrinda Grover (India) - Member
Vrinda Grover is an Indian human rights lawyer and defender, successfully advocating and litigating landmark cases in relation to women's rights, torture and sexual minorities. She is a Board member of the Fund for Global Human Rights and a Bureau member of South Asians for Human Rights. She has also been at the forefront of a range of successful law reform campaigns, including in relation to women's rights and children's rights, among others. 

Alice Mogwe (Botswana) - Member
Alice Mogwe is Director of Ditshwanelo, the Botswana Centre for Human Rights. She is former Chairperson of the Southern Africa Trust and an honorary Secretary-General of the International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH). Recognised as one of the leading human rights lawyers and civil society activists in Botswana, she is a prominent advocate on issues including women's rights and development. 

Egbert Myjer (The Netherlands) – Member
Egbert Myjer is a Professor of Human Rights Law, a Commissioner with the International Commission of Jurists, and a Board member of Amnesty International in The Netherlands. In 2012, he was made a Commander of the Order of Orange-Nassau. Mr Myjer served as a judge of the European Court of Human Rights from 2004 to 2012.

Andrew Park (United States) – Member
Andrew Park is now working as an expert human rights and was one of the experts who assisted to draft and adopt the Yogyakarta Principles + 10. Previously, Park served as the International Program Director at the Williams Institute and as a Program Director at Wellspring Advisors, LLC.  He also served as the coordinator of the International Human Rights Funders Group and co-chair of the Global Philanthropy Project.

Jean-Daniel Vigny (Switzerland) – Member
Jean-Daniel Vigny is an expert-consultant on international human rights issues for the Swiss Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He held the position of Minister for the Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the UN in both New York and Geneva, and was also Head of Switzerland’s Human Rights Policy Section.