Announcements of African Commission Working Group Chairpersons and country responsibilities


New working groups chairpersons and country mandates appointed at the 57th session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights. 

Commissioner Faith Pansy Tlakula

  • Special Rapporteur on freedom of expression and access to information
  • Countries: Lesotho, Mauritius, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Burundi, South Sudan

Commissioner Soyata Maiga

  • Chairperson of the Working Group on indigenous populations/communities
  • Countries: Angola, Congo, Niger, Libya, Equatorial Guinea

Commissioner Solomon Dersso

  • Chairperson of the Working Group on extractive industries, environment and human rights violations
  • Countries: Kenya, Mozambique, Tanzania, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR)

Commissioner Reine Alapini-Gansou

  • Special Rapporteur on human rights defenders
  • Countries: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Mali, Togo, Cameroon and Senegal

Commissioner Zainabo Kayitesi

  • Chairperson of the Working Group on death penalty and extra-judicial, summary or arbitrary killings in Africa
  • Countries: Algeria, Djibouti, Gabon, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Burundi

Commissioner Yeung Sik Yuen

  • Chairperson of the Working Group on the rights of older persons and people with disabilities
  • Countries: Comoros, Central African Republic, Sao Tome and Principe, Madagascar and Seychelles

Commissioner Lucy Asuagbo

  • Special Rapporteur on Rights of Women in Africa 
  • Countries: Rwanda, Malawi, Nigeria, Benin, Uganda

Commissioner Med S. K. Kaggwa

  • Special Rapporteur on prisons and conditions of detention in Africa
  • Countries: Botswana, Eritrea, Somalia, South Africa and Zambia

Commissioner Maya Fadel

  • Special Rapporteur on refugees, asylum seekers and internally displaced persons 
  • Countries: Burkina Faso, Guinea, Tunisia, Egypt, Mauritania

Commissioner Lawrence Mute

  • Chairperson of Committee for the prevention of torture in Africa 
  • Countries: Ethiopia, Liberia, Sudan and Ghana

Commissioner Jamesina King

  • Chairperson of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights
  • Countries: The Gambia, Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau and Cape Verde